Nanowires on Silicon for Solar Applications

Prof. Connie Chang-Hasnain

John R. Whinnery Chair Professor
Chair, Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group
Director, Center for Optoelectronic Nanostructured Semiconductor Technologies
Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Department
University of California, Berkeley


Connie Chang-Hasnain is the John R. Whinnery Chair Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Department at the University of California, Berkeley. She received her Ph.D. degree from the same department in 1987. Prior to joining the Berkeley faculty, Dr. Chang-Hasnain was a member of the technical staff at Bellcore (1987–1992) and an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University (1992–1996). She currently serves as Chair of the Nanoscale Science and Engineering (NSE) Graduate Group.

She is also an Honorary Member of A.F. Ioffe Institute (Russia), Chang Jiang Scholar Endowed Chair at Tsinghua University (China), Visiting Professor of Peking University (China) and National Jiao Tung University (Taiwan).

Prof. Chang-Hasnain’s research interests span from devices to materials and physics, particularly focusing on new optical structures and materials for integrated optoelectronics. Most recently, she and her students achieved ground-breaking results of nano-lasers on MOS-silicon based on their discovery of a brand new nano-material growth mode. This is promising for large-scale integration of optoelectronic devices with CMOS circuits. Another research thrust involves a new type of subwavelength grating, a simple thin-film chip-scale structure that can potentially completely replace all bulk optics, with 1 million times size reduction and 1,000 times speed increase. These results will have profound impact to silicon and optical communication industries. Both work received much attention including coverage in Physics Today, Laser Focus and ABC Evening News.

Prof. Chang-Hasnain is recognized by international scientific community with awards such as IEEE David Sarnoff Award 2011 for pioneering contributions to vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) arrays and tunable VCSELs; Optical Society of America (OSA) Nick Holonyak Jr. Award 2007 from for significant contributions to vertical cavity surface emitting laser arrays, injection locking and slow light; and Japan Society of Applied Physics Microoptics Award 2009 for distinguished works and contributions to develop and to promote microoptics technologies. She received the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship 2009, Humboldt Research Award from Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung Foundation 2009, and Chang Jiang Scholar Endowed Chair Award from the Peoples Republic of China 2009. She was also awarded with one of the most prestigious faculty fellowship in 2008, the National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship by the Department of Defense. This award provides $4.5M funding over 5 years for long-range research. In addition, many of her students received best paper awards in international conferences, including the Photonics Society Annual Meeting 2010, International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors 2010, Optical Fiber Communication Conference 2009, 65th Annual Device Research Conference, etc.

Professor Chang-Hasnain is the Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Lightwave Technology since 2007. She was a member of the USAF Scientific Advisory Board and a member of the Board on Assessment of NIST Programs and Chair of the Electronics and Electrical Engineering Laboratory (EEL) Panel, National Research Council. She has been active in technical conferences, including serving as General Technical Co-Chair and General Co-Chair for Asia Pacific Optical Communications (APOC) Conference in 2004 and 2005, respectively; Program and General Co-Chair for OSA Slow and Fast Light Topical Meeting in 2006 and 2007, respectively; and the OSA Frontiers in Optics Conference in 2007. Prof. Chang-Hasnain served as an IEEE LEOS Board of Governor and an OSA Director-at-Large.

Professor Chang-Hasnain has co-authored over 400 research papers in technical journals and conferences. She also holds more than 30 patents. Professor Chang-Hasnain was named a Presidential Faculty Fellow, a  National Young Investigator, a Packard Fellow, a Sloan Research Fellow, and Outstanding Young Electrical Engineer of the Year by Eta Kappa Nu. She received the 1994 IEEE LEOS Distinguished Lecturer Award, the 2000 Curtis W. McGraw Research Award from the American Society of Engineering Education, the 2003 IEEE William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award, and the 2005 Gilbreth Lecturer Award from National Academy of Engineering. In 2009, she was named a Guggenheim Fellow. Professor Chang-Hasnain is a Fellow of the IEEE, OSA and IEE, and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Journal of Lightwave Technologies. She has been elected an Honorary Member of A.F. Ioffe Institute in 2005.

Talk Abstract

Silicon is the basis for electronic devices, and III-V semiconductors make the best photonic components, but the crystal lattice mismatch between these material types has made integrating the two a longstanding research problem. This talk will feature new GaAs-based nanostructures that overcome this roadblock: sharp, hexagonal pyramids of high-quality crystal that grow catalyst-free directly on silicon, sapphire, and other substrates. The metastable nanowires scale with growth time and can be layered, doped, as well as selectively etched to create robust on-chip structures for diverse applications, including optical interconnects, microscopy, field emission, nonlinear optical signal generation, sensors, displays, and nanofluidics. The high crystal quality of III-V nanowires grown on silicon is unmatched, making nanowires an exciting approach towards developing practical silicon-based novel optoelectronics for the future.

Copyright 2016 | Renewable Energy | CSIR-SERC